“Why Do We Fall?”

The running theme in Christopher Nolan’s Batman Trilogy, while very simple, opens the mind to thoughts almost too inconceivable.  The greatest question we as people could ask is “Why?”

I attended the midnight release of Nolan’s latest, The Dark Knight Rises.  (I will not be giving a full review as of yet.  You guys are going to have to listen in to the next podcast for our roundtable discussion of the final installment to Nolan’s Batman Trilogy.)

A phone call from a friend woke me from my nightmare (which was pretty much someone speaking to me in Bane’s voice over and over), and he asked if I had seen the news.  Rubbing my eyes and checking the time, I replied with a grunting “no”.

He proceeded to tell me about the events at a movie theatre in Aurora, Colorado where a gunman, donning a bulletproof vest, multiple firearms, and a gasmask, threw tear-gas canisters into a crowd of moviegoers and began to open fire.

I couldn’t help but think, “These are MY people”.  These are the late-night moviegoers that I know and love.  These are MY nerdy people and we are all awake at midnight celebrating the same event.  An event that’s so esoteric that, when we are older, we will reflect upon as one of the several instances that define our generation.

Of course after hearing this, the only question I could ask myself was “why?”

I spent the entire day watching the news and filing through the Internet to find an answer to that question.  The terrible part about all this is I still haven’t and probably won’t find one.  Then someone posted this quote on Facebook:

This weekend, go to a movie.  No, it’s not about keeping the bad guys from winning, or making a statement, although if you want it to be, that’s okay.  Go to the movies this weekend because it’s a joy.  One of the last great joys we have left these days, it seems.  Plant yourself in a theater, and see whatever you fancy.  It’s the place dreams come true.  It’s the magic land.  That screen isn’t a window – it’s a door.  An inviting door that lets in everyone.  All are welcome in that world, and we get to wonder in the power of imagination and beauty. – Nordling, aintitcoolnews.com

I’m putting this quote here because I definitely could not have said it better, and I don’t know anyone that can.  This reiterates why the word “magic” is often paired with anything to do with going to a movie. The movie theatre truly is “the magic land”.  A good movie will provide you an opportunity to escape. The emotions that encompass you when watching a great film are indescribable and should never be taken away from you by the hands of another man.

I sometimes wish we had a real-life Batman that could save us from events like these.

Christopher Nolan later released a statement on the tragedy:

Speaking on behalf of the cast and crew of The Dark Knight Rises, I would like to express our profound sorrow at the senseless tragedy that has befallen the entire Aurora community. I would not presume to know anything about the victims of the shooting, but that they were there last night to watch a movie. I believe movies are one of the great American art forms and the shared experience of watching a story unfold on screen is an important and joyful pastime. The movie theatre is my home, and the idea that someone would violate that innocent and hopeful place in such an unbearably savage way is devastating to me. Nothing any of us can say could ever adequately express our feelings for the innocent victims of this appalling crime, but our thoughts are with them and their families.

“The movie theatre is my home”, says Nolan.  I’ve never really thought about it, it must have just been a subconscious idea, that the theatre does sometimes feel like a second home.  We go to this place and are overtaken by such powerful emotions that we may never experience anywhere else.  It’s comforting.

What I’m trying to say is, don’t be afraid to go to the movie theatre.   Go enjoy yourself.  Don’t let someone replace your happiness with fear.  Why should we let someone take that from us?

We here at Nerd Takeout believe in living your life doing what you love.  If you enjoy going to the movie theatre to escape for a couple of hours a day, then please by all means do so.

Also, on behalf of our nerds here at Nerd Takeout I want to express our state of deep despondency for the friends and families of the victims of the Aurora tragedy.  Our thoughts are forever with you.

Life is about asking yourself, “why do we fall?”

“So we can learn to pick ourselves up.”

-Andrew

