What up, nerds.  Andrew here. Just when you thought you were done with the Batman garble, Nerd Takeout drags you back in.  We said we were going to spam you with Batman stuff, so we are spamming you with Batman stuff.

This will help: think of our spam as those cool little batarang-needle things that Batman throws at your neck to render you unconscious.  Pretty cool, right?  Right? No?  No one?

Hopefully if you are reading this, you have listened to our Dark Knight Rises podcast.  If not, then please do so now.  This blog will be here when you get back.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=86yWsIVgiOA&feature=plcp

Are you back?  Good.  Hopefully you didn’t fall asleep at your computer. (Just kidding, this is good stuff!)

So if you have seen TDKR, then I’m sure you will agree with me when I say: “BANE SCARED THE EVER-LOVING CRAP OUT OF ME!!!”

*looks over shoulder, checks underpants*

Also I know if you are reading this, then you HAVE in fact tried your best impersonation at Bane’s voice.  I know you have been walking around your house, work, etc. with your hands cupped over your mouth trying to squeeze out the best old-man voice you can.  I know you’ve done this, why?  Because I CAN’T STOP DOING IT.  I would be doing this now if my fingers weren’t typing away.

Seriously though he scared me more than Heath Ledger’s Joker.  The Joker was just fun to watch and in fact I found myself cheering him on.  But with Bane?  No.  We cannot have fun watching Bane (and I’m okay with this).

Anywho, my point is I, like Neil, was reminded of the old-school Batman villains from the nineties that were so terribad.  You know, the Tommy Lee Jones Two-Face, and the Jim Carrey’s Riddler…so terribad… *shudders*.  I just wanted to express my eternal gratitude to Chris Nolan for showing us the BEST portrayals of the villains that he gave us.  You can argue with me all you want, but Heath Ledger was the best Joker.  Shut up, Tim Burton.

Seriously?

And then:

SERIOUSLY?!?!?!

And then:

AWW COME ON!!!!!

This hurts.  This hurts so very much.  I just want Bane to come onto this blog and punch these pictures in the face.

I know that feel, bro.

Maybe Bane was so angry at the terrible portrayals of his best friends in the older films?  Who’s to know.  So as awesome as Bane was, he also had some pretty awesome one-liners, (I’m surprised they aren’t memes yet!) such as:

“Your punishment must be more severe.”

“Behold the instrument to your liberation!”

“Now is not the time for fear, that comes later.”

AND, OF COURSE:

“When Gotham is ashes…(beat)…then you have my permission to die.”

Great job, Tom Hardy.

ALSO, in the Batman world, Chris Nolan released this tear-jerking goodbye letter to the Batman franchise:

http://batman-news.com/2012/07/24/christopher-nolans-goodbye-letter-to-the-batman-franchise/

And I would like to say, Christopher Nolan, that we will miss it just as much as you will.  And thank you for this wonderful gift you have given to us.

Check back tomorrow for more Batman-y goodness!

-Andrew

